When Branislav Ivanovic hauled down Ashley Young in the showdown between Arsenal’s title rivals yesterday, it didn’t take a psychic to hint that the referee would issue a red card.

Such was the predictable nature of Ivanovic’s sending off that the Chelsea defender did not even bother challenging the referee over his decision.

And it now appears it all happened for a reason…

Also if Mark Clattenburg did indeed make a racist remark towards a couple of Chelsea’s players as they have reported, then the blues will be left with no option but to make him captain.

For more of this, follow us on Twitter or join us on Facebook.

⚽ Subscribe ⚽

Be the first to receive breaking news about Arsenal!