Former Premier League referee Howard Webb has expressed his thoughts on the first goal Alexis Sanchez scored against Hull City.

The Gunners secured all the three points for the first time in three games but it was not without some controversy as the ball appeared to hit the hand of Sanchez as the opening goal was scored.

“It obviously came off Alexis Sanchez’ arm and to be fair to Mark Clattenburg he’s gone over to the assistant to talk to him as well.” the former match-official said after the game.

“And I can only conclude they’ve come to the conclusion that it wasn’t deliberate.

“When we see it back I don’t think anybody in the world who sees that sequence of play can say that Sanchez meant to handle it.

“Yes, it came off his hand. If I was a Hull fan, a Hull player, the Hull coach, I’d feel bitterly disappointed that I’d had this really bad stroke of luck that went against me but actually Sanchez does nothing other than try to play the ball with his left leg.

“As his left leg goes up naturally his right arm goes up for balance, it pings about in there, comes off the keeper, hits his arm and goes in the goal.

“Certainly not intentional. The law requires handball to be an intentional act and it was’t intentional so as the law is written it is a correct decision by mark Clattenburg to give the goal albeit desperately unlucky to Hull.”

Be the first to receive breaking news about Arsenal!