Thomas Vermaelen and Cesc Fabregas have been named in the PFA Premier League team of the year.

The Gunners’ skipper was nominated for both the PFA Player of the Year prize – where he lost out to Waye Rooney – and the PFA Young player of the Year award which was claimed by James Milner.

But there was some consolation for Fabregas as he was joined by teammate Thomas Vermaelen in the English top flight’s team of the year.

Despite an injury-plagued season, Fabregas managed to enjoy his best season as an Arsenal player – ending as the club’s top scorer with 15 league goals which broke Robert Pires’ record of the alltime most by an Arsenal midfielder.

Thomas Vermaelen also experienced an inspiring debut season and proved to be arguably Arsenal’s most consistent performer – missing only one league game before his campaign was ended by injury at Tottenham recently.

More impressively, the Belgian netted an outstanding 7 goals in the league which included stunning efforts against Wigan and Blackburn earlier in the season.

The last time an Arsenal player was named in the PFA Team of the Year was two years ago when Sagna, Clichy, Fabregas and Adebayor were all recognized for their efforts in that once impeccable 2007/08 season which collapsed after Eduardo’s injury.

PFA Team of the Year:

GK: Joe Hart (Birmingham)
DEF: Branislav Ivanovic (Chelsea)
DEF: Richard Dunne (Aston Villa)
DEF: Thomas Vermaelen (Arsenal)
DEF: Patrice Evra (Man Utd)
MID: Darren Fletcher (Man Utd)
MID: Cesc Fabregas(Arsenal)
MID: James Milner (Aston Villa)
MID: Antonio Valencia (Man Utd)
ST: Didier Drogba (Chelsea)
ST: Wayne Rooney (Man Utd)

Be the first to receive breaking news about Arsenal!