signing Thomas Vermaelen followed up Samir Nasri’s exploits a year ago by scoring in his first ever game as a Gunner.

The former Ajax captain has already made his mark in Arsenal’s books after just one appearance and according to the club’s history, Vermaelen is the 84th Arsenal player to score on his debut and 23rd to accomplish that feat since the World War.

What is remakable about the Belgian’s achievement is the fact that few defenders make the list of dream debutants.

Vermaelen joins Freddie Ljungberg, Emmanuel Adebayor and Samir Nasri as the only debut-scorers in Arsène Wenger’s era.

The list below are scorers when a league match was their major competition debut. Debut scorers in other competitions include Raphael Meade (Europe), Ian Wright and Danny Karbassiyoon (League Cup) and Gilberto (Charity Shield).

Below is a partial list of the historic scorers.

Be the first to receive breaking news about Arsenal!

League debut scorers before Vermaelen
Name Opposition Date
Samir Nasri West Bromwich Albion Aug 16, 2008
Emmanuel Adebayor Birmingham City Feb 4, 2006
Freddie Ljungberg Manchester United Sep 20, 1998
Niall Quinn Liverpool Dec 14, 1985
Graham Rix Leicester City Apr 2, 1977
Wilf Rostron Newcastle United Mar 18, 1975
Brian Kidd Leicester City Aug 17, 1974
Peter Marinello Manchester United Jan 10, 1970
George Graham Leicester City Oct 1, 1966
Jon Sammels Blackpool Apr 27, 1963
Joe Baker Leyton Orient Aug 18, 1962
Terry Neill Sheffield Wednesday Dec 23, 1960
George Eastham Bolton Wanderers Dec 10, 1960
Geoff Strong Newcastle United Sep 17, 1960
Len Julians Luton Town Dec 26, 1958
Jackie Henderson West Bromwich Albion Oct 4, 1958
Tommy Docherty Burnley Aug 26, 1958
Vic Groves Sheffield United Nov 12, 1955
Derek Tapscott Liverpool Apr 10, 1954
Donald Oakes Aston Villa Aug 23, 1952
Peter Goring Chelsea Aug 24, 1949
Alex Forbes Wolverhampton Wanderers Mar 6, 1948
Ronnie Rooke Charlton Athletic Dec 14, 1946